the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker’s Blog

Peace in Five

Was tagged by the End on this Five Words About the SL Situ that RD started. I can’t really put my thoughts into five words. It’s a bit too complex for that. At least for me. So instead, I’ll give you five pictures. You can attach whatever words you think suit them.

42-22363560

42-21871964

42-21615114

ad-4-2

DWF15-713124

And to keep it rolling, I tag Indi,
Electra,
Ravana,
Nayagan,
and DBSJ.

May 29, 2009 - Posted by | Security, War | , , ,

28 Comments »

  1. a picture = a 1000 words

    so instead of 5 you’ve written 5000!

    Always a treat reading your blog Davy! Nice one… 🙂

    Comment by Chavie | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. The last pic is priceless David.

    I froze.

    Comment by Serendib_isle | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow. The last one just knocked me off balance.

    Comment by Makuluwo | May 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah, it’s a funeral in Mirigama, back in 2004. Wasantha Kolombage of Military Intelligence.

      Comment by David Blacker | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Add my name to the list of people whose heartstrings were ripped out by the last picture.

    As for the penultimate picture…let’s hope that adorable kid grows up in a safer environment than the one they were born in to.

    Comment by PseudoRandom | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. Nice.
    Creative no?!?

    Comment by DD | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. I had deviously tagged you, bet you didn’t notice!

    Comment by DD | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Beautiful. And you’re so right. It’s too complex for words really.

    Comment by Gypsy | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. beautiful !!!!

    Comment by ranukaz | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. lol! foto number 4 is a “tsunami” child, the tent being donation of the italian civil protection, therefore brought to sl in jan 2005. im 99.9% sure of it, as i was part of it.
    ?????

    Comment by galleblogger | May 29, 2009 | Reply

    • That’s correct, Galleblogger. The pix represent my thoughts on recent events. It’s not meant to be historical or anything.

      Rajarata, we definitely won the war, but every victory has it’s costs.

      Comment by David Blacker | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. That last one got mate ! Someone said “It’s always poor folks who go to fight wars, so the affluent can keep on living”

    Life in Pictures…..to whom the bells toll !

    I dont really know who won now ! Seriously….I so sad !
    TKX DB ~ Laters ~

    Comment by Rajarata | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  11. Articulate in a way words can not convey.

    Comment by Sigma Delta | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  12. Great post…

    Comment by Santhoshi | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  13. Hey David,
    Are all these your pictures?
    Fantastic Dude!

    Comment by Captain | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  14. These pictures don’t need captions, David…. the images says it all.

    Comment by Lasitha | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  15. You “said” the five David. I wonder about the dog with the soldiers, it seems very happy to be the mascot (if that is what it is).

    Comment by kalusudda | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  16. @kalusudda, you are such a sweetie for a person who has no perspective of Sri Lanka !!!! Stray dogs are quite common in Sri Lanka and they follow people in the hope of getting some food 🙂

    Comment by Anne | June 5, 2009 | Reply

  17. Mr. Blacker,

    I have responded.

    I highly doubt someone of DBS’ generation would indulge in this kind of blog-age writing exercise. That may be an unfair stereotype but I haven’t yet seen a response.

    Comment by Nayagan | June 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes, Nayagan, I didn’t really expect to DBS to respond, though I hoped he might. Interestingly, Electra and you were the only two of the five I tagged to respond. But then, you don’t really expect MIA to respond to this, either, no?

      Comment by David Blacker | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  18. Nice post David –
    Many brave men have laid down their lives for the country, their families and loved ones have equally made sacrifices. As a citizen I will be eternally grateful to our brave men in the armed forces. Armed forces have done its job now its time for political elites to do their job. We have to immediately resettle IDP’s and address grievances through political and economic reforms. Otherwise this violent cycle is going to start again.

    Comment by San | June 5, 2009 | Reply

  19. Very interesting to see all photos capture emotions from those who are lets say, not affluent?! The rich are not affected by the change or what

    Comment by Girigoris the One | June 7, 2009 | Reply

    • The pix represent my emotions. Don’t read too much into it, Girigoris.

      Comment by David Blacker | June 7, 2009 | Reply

  20. no, i don’t, though I would give my SL ODI side autographed miniature bat to debate her in an open forum.

    after all, she is young enough to know what a blog is and probably narcissistic enough to know what is being said about her.

    Comment by Nayagan | June 9, 2009 | Reply

  21. The pictures are pretty amazing. But my five words (unasked for) are: We Now Have A King. I think that is the most frightening thing that can happen to this country at this juncture.

    Comment by Epicurean | June 10, 2009 | Reply

  22. Hi David, I needed to comment on your blog, now the war is over. One of my cousins knows of you, & recommended it to me. I’m Singhalese (with tamil relatives). I’ve lived in the UK since the seventies. Schooled in Sri Lanka for 2 years till the war started. I return to sri lanka every year. I remember hiding my tamil relatives in tea crates during the ’83 riots. I remember the war & reading about the main battles. I remember hating the LTTE till I became numb to it. I’ve never felt so Sri Lankan as I do now. I’ve never been so proud of our country and its armed forces. Your blogs have some of the most touching articles ive read about the conflict. I like them as they are non-racist, eloquent and straight from the heart. ‘Nineteen ’til I die’ and ‘For this All that blood was Shed’ almost made me cry… Thank you – (From one of the ‘privileged’ ones who never had to fight to keep our country unified, but who will be eternally grateful for those who did). C

    Comment by CM | June 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

